Deeper Diving

Photo compliments of Google

If you follow me along on my farm blog, this post is a duplicate of it. 🙂

I have realized for quite a while now, I have been self censoring myself when I blog.

Short story.

It really came into focus last New Years. We were with another couple we’ve known for years. (Early 1980’s at least.) The four of us went to see a musician on New Years eve in Manchester. We only get together with this couple (I’ll call them Ken and Diane) once every great while, so we had a lot to catch up on.

On the ride home, the conversation had turned to current events, I was really curious to see where Ken was at. He has always struck me as very grounded. He does have a wicked sense of humor, but in business and his personal life, he is so normal.

You can learn a lot when you keep your mouth shut and ask lots of questions. I realized at some point, (from my perspective) Ken had been listening to some things on line that I found incredulous. Even he admitted some of the things seemed a little far out there, but some of it he was convinced was true. The conversation left me slightly unsettled and unnerving. If Ken could get get sucked into something I felt was complete nonsense, then anyone (including myself) is vulnerable.

++++++++++++++++++++++

I enjoy interacting with each and everyone of you.

That is a fact.

I have multiple reasons for blogging.

Getting to know people I would have otherwise never have met is high on the list. My readers come from a wide variety of places. Liberal, conservative, male, female. People living in big cities, small towns , out in the sticks. Young, older. It is a fun mix. The downside to that, is I am very intentional about not rocking anybodies boat.

I have no desire to “vent.” Personally tend to skip over those type of blog posts.

I do on the other hand long to interact with some of you about topics that may be more volatile (they don’t have to be) but the way things are on the internet, in a public forum, no way am I going to go there.

So I keep my thoughts to myself. All the while wishing there was a place to ask questions without someone thinking I have a screw loose, or verbally attack me for just asking an honest question, or having a slightly different opinion that someone else.

So I am thinking about creating another blog, a private blog where it is OK to ask questions. Where I don’t have to self sensor. And if nothing else, there is a foundation of mutual respect. I’m thinking I would throw this out there to those of you who are regular readers. Let me know if you’re interested. I will be in touch and send you a link . (I will send it to the e-mail attached to your comments)

6 thoughts on “Deeper Diving

  1. Is that possible?! I’ve wanted to do the same thing! Yes , please include me. I’m curious if your friend was into flat earth? I’ve encountered quite a few people who believe that and other things I do not believe. But they are convinced by the “evidence”. However , I do believe some “conspiracies” are actually supported by evidence.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Wasn’t flat earth. WordPress has a feature where you set your blog to private, and then send people an invite/ link. Last I checked anyway. I’ll put you on the short list. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  2. I thought you might have gone crazy on the Starbucks overnight Doug and accidentally posted the same thing twice…until I saw the second was the farm blog! As one of those readers who has been privileged to have deeper conversations with you already I would welcome the opportunity to continue that if you will allow me! I use a private blog to write for my kids about my life. It works really well and is definitely a nice feature so that many viewpoints can be heard.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment